Mobile phones and technology are a great distraction for adults and teenagers in everyday life and can be fatal when driving. However, teens are less likely to avoid the impulse to pick up the phone when they`re behind the wheel. Distracted driving accidents account for about 60% of car accidents among teenagers. Distracted driving includes the use of cell phones, disturbances such as eating, wearing makeup, listening to loud music, and passengers in the car. Teens, especially boys, are more likely to take risks and are more likely to distract themselves with other teens in the car. Driving a vehicle with friends in the car greatly multiplies the risk of a car accident in teenagers. The risk of a teenager causing a collision increases by 44% if another teenager (not a family member) accompanies him. The risk doubles with two friends and quadruples with three or more friends. This is certainly not a risk we would take as IR lawyers for car accidents or parents.
Once the restricted teaching licence has been withheld for six months and the driver has not been convicted of traffic offences, they qualify for a driving test. If this test is passed, the driver will receive a limited provisional licence. For many young people, driving is a rite of passage. It offers both freedom and responsibility and can be one of the biggest steps on the road to adulthood. Below are links to Rhode Island`s traffic laws and driving rules, including online vehicle code, common traffic violation laws, and country-specific driving manuals (if applicable). While in possession of the licence, drivers must complete at least 50 hours of driving experience with a supervised driver. Ten hours must be completed at night. Rhode Island is one of many states with a tiered driver`s license (GDL) policy. A graduated driver`s license allows a new teen driver to gain experience by gradually introducing driving privileges before obtaining a full preferred driver`s license. During the process, they get better accustomed to the operation of a vehicle, the different road conditions and the safety rules.
The gradual introduction of driving licences introduces new vehicle drivers into the regular car population in a low-risk manner, helping to protect others on the road and themselves. A Rhode Island driver`s license may be issued to a Rhode Island resident who is at least 16 years of age but under 18 years of age and has completed a certified driving course and passed the DMV written test. The licence must be kept for at least six months, as the driver may only drive a vehicle for at least five years if accompanied by an adult aged 21 and over in the front seat with a valid driver`s licence. Licence holders must complete 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours at night. After passing a road test, a limited provisional license is issued with restrictions that the teen can drive unattended, except between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. The driver may not travel with more than one passenger under the age of 21 in the first 12 months. A full operator`s licence may be issued at the age of 17 and 6 months, provided that the provisional licence has been held for at least 12 months and no violation of movement or seat belt has been issued in the last six months. Need more information about state laws? Learn more about the laws you live in. Graduate Driver`s License (GDL) Policy for New Drivers in Rhode Island Once a minor driver turns 17, he or she is entitled to apply for a full operating license provided that: (i) he or she has held a restricted provisional license for at least 12 months and (ii) he or she has not been convicted of movement or seat belt violation during the last six months.
Bottaro Law Firm, LLC is a team of experienced personal injury attorneys and attorneys representing auto accident victims in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. If your teen was injured in an accident or if you were injured in an accident with a teenage driver, we invite you to contact us for a free, no-obligation consultation. If your teen was injured in a car accident in East Providence, a car accident in Cranston, or a car accident in Pawtucket, Tapalian Law`s assault lawyers are here to help. With offices conveniently located in Providence, RI and Seekonk, MA, our counterfeit attorneys are easily accessible to clients injured in car accidents, motorcycle accidents and truck collisions throughout Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Our experienced accident lawyers have helped countless injured clients obtain compensation following an RI car accident or an MA car accident. Call our experienced injury law firm today Recognizing the risks to underage drivers from causing and sustaining serious injury in dangerous crashes, the Rhode Island legislature has implemented a tiered licensing system for drivers under the age of 20. If teen drivers meet certain criteria, they can switch to less restrictive licenses until they finally get their full and unrestricted license. Note: Our attorneys are licensed in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia.
This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other attorneys and personal injury attorneys in the United States. Youth between the ages of 16 and 18 can obtain a limited teaching permit upon completion of a 33-hour certified driving course. To obtain a restricted teaching permit, the teen driver must pass a written exam and be accompanied by his or her parents or guardians who sign their license application with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Teen drivers with a restricted instruction license must: Rhode Island residents are eligible for the restricted teaching permit if they are 16 years old and taking a 33 1/2-hour licensed driving course certified by the Community College of Rhode Island or another approved course.